MERCEDES-AMG TEAM HRT CLAIMS WELL EARNED PODIUM IN THE GT WORLD CHALLENGE EUROPE

PRESS INFORMATION | 5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

The Haupt Racing Team was on good form at round four of the GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup and claimed its best result of the season so far at the Nürburgring. The #4 Mercedes-AMG GT3, driven by Maro Engel, Luca Stolz and Nico Bastian, crossed the finish line in third place. The #5 car, with team owner Hubert Haupt, Patrick Assenheimer and Michele Beretta at the wheel, finished fifth in the Silver Cup.

  • Best result of the season for Mercedes-AMG Team HRT at the Nürburgring
  • #4 Mercedes-AMG Team HRT claims podium for Haupt Racing Team in the GT World Challenge Europe
  • Fifth place in the Silver Cup class for the #5 Mercedes-AMG GT3

The #4 Mercedes-AMG GT3 in the pink and blue design of sponsor BWT, which was officially competing as “Mercedes-AMG Team HRT”, laid the foundation for a successful weekend in the GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup in the combined qualifying on Sunday morning. Engel, Stolz and Bastian (all GER), the latter replacing regular driver Vincent Abril (MCO), who was racing in the DTM at the same time, guided their HRT car to fourth place on the grid. The #5 car, in the colours of team partners AutoArena and nu concept, started the race from 20th on the grid, with Haupt, Assenheimer (both GER) and Beretta (ITA) sharing the driving duties.

Having seen Luca Stolz drop back to fifth place at the start in the #4 car, the team decided to make an early driver and tyre change – and this proved the right thing to do. Maro Engel, who took the wheel for the middle stint, gained two positions thanks to an impressive out lap and found himself third overall when the race settled down after the round of pit stops.

Hubert Haupt made a good start in the #5 Mercedes-AMG GT3 and climbed from 20th on the grid to 17th. At this point, that put them sixth in the Silver Cup. The two HRT cars defended their positions during several yellow and safety car phases. Patrick Assenheimer and Michele Beretta even managed to move up the standings as the race progressed and ultimately ended the three-hour race in 14th place overall. This was enough to earn them fifth place in the Silver Cup class.

Nico Bastian, who had familiarised himself with the circuit in the Fanatec Esports GT Pro Series yesterday evening, took his place at the wheel of the #4 Mercedes-AMG GT3 for the final stint. He held his nerve and brought the car home in third place.

The Haupt Racing Team’s next outing in the GT World Challenge Europe is in three weeks, when Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia hosts the final Sprint Cup of the year. The next Endurance event also takes place in Spain. When the two HRT cars head to Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya for the season finale on 10th October, they will be looking to follow on where they left off at the Nürburgring.

Luca Stolz, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4
“It was a good weekend for us. You could see from the start that we had the pace. It was great fun driving, but we did not have a chance against the Lamborghini and the number 88 was also strong. However, I am happy with third place. The team deserved that. After the season has not gone entirely to plan so far, it is nice to finally be on the podium.” 

Nico Bastian, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4
“Generally speaking, that was a very successful weekend. That was my very first podium in the Endurance Cup. I am obviously delighted with that. The car was fast, we were always in the top three. Everything came together and we capped the performance with third place. Starting from fourth, that was the best we could envisage.”

Hubert Haupt, team owner and driver, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5
“I am very happy with the podium for the number 4. That was the best we could hope for today, as the Lamborghini was a second per lap faster at times. Without adjusting the BOP, I do not currently see how we can challenge for overall victory. We finished fifth in the Silver Cup in our car. That is okay, but the goal was the podium.”  

Sean Paul Breslin, team principal Haupt Racing Team
It was a very challenging weekend for us, at two racetracks at the same time. We drove very well, delivered good team effort and did not make any mistakes. I am very happy with the performance of the team and the good result. We have our drivers to thank for the podium and a strong performance. That felt great after the start to the GT World Challenge did not go to plan for us. Hopefully we can continue this form in Barcelona.”  

About HRT
HRT stands for HAUPT RACING TEAM. Formed in July 2020 by racing driver and entrepreneur Hubert Haupt, the team enjoys success in GT3 racing. HRT lines up with extended works support from Mercedes-AMG in many of the team's outings. The outings and cars are prepared in Meuspath, not far from the Nürburgring. HRT also has its own eSPORTS team in the professional sim racing sector and is a sought-after partner for motorsport events of all sorts. HRT can call on a host of experts with a wealth of motorsport and engineering experience, which the diverse motorsport company leverages when implementing technical development projects for and with its partners. The headquarters of Haupt Racing Team GmbH is Grünwald near Munich. The team owner is racing driver and businessman Hubert Haupt. As well as motorsport, Haupt is primarily known as a successful property developer. With his Immobilien Holding company, he implements high-quality living and building concepts in southern Germany – from innovative buildings to complete districts.

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

5 September, 2021 | Nürburg

MERCEDES-AMG TEAM HRT HOLT VERDIENTEN PODESTPLATZ IN DER GT WORLD CHALLENGE EUROPE

PRESSE-INFORMATION | 5. September 2021 | Nürburg

Das Haupt Racing Team präsentierte sich beim vierten Lauf des GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cups in guter Form und fuhr auf dem Nürburgring seine bislang beste Saisonplatzierung ein. Der von Maro Engel, Luca Stolz und Nico Bastian pilotierte Mercedes-AMG GT3 #4 überquerte die Ziellinie als Dritter. Das Schwesterauto #5 um Teambesitzer Hubert Haupt, Patrick Assenheimer und Michele Beretta belegte im Silver-Cup Rang fünf. 

  • Bestes Saisonergebnis für Mercedes-AMG Team HRT auf dem Nürburgring
  • Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4 holt Podestplatz für Haupt Racing Team in der GT World Challenge Europe
  • Mercedes-AMG GT3 #5 mit fünftem Rang in Silver-Cup-Klasse 

Den Grundstein für ein erfolgreiches Wochenende im GT World Challenge Europe Endurance Cup legte der Mercedes-AMG GT3 #4 im pink-blauen Design des Sponsors BWT, der unter der Nennung „Mercedes-AMG Team HRT“ antrat, bereits im kombinierten Qualifying am Sonntagvormittag. Engel, Stolz und Bastian (alle GER), der Stammfahrer Vincent Abril (MCO) aufgrund dessen gleichzeitigen Einsatzes in der DTM ersetzte, fuhren mit ihrem HRT-Fahrzeug auf die vierte Startposition. Das Schwesterauto #5 in den Farben der Teampartner AutoArena und nu concept mit Haupt, Assenheimer (beide GER) und Beretta (ITA) hinter dem Steuer nahm das Rennen von Rang 20 aus in Angriff.

Nachdem Luca Stolz im Fahrzeug #4 in der Startphase zunächst auf den fünften Platz zurückfiel, entschied sich das Team für einen frühen Fahrer- und Reifenwechsel – und handelte damit genau richtig. Maro Engel, der sich für den mittleren Stint hinter das Steuer setzte, gewann durch eine beeindruckend schnelle Outlap zwei Positionen und fand sich im boxenstoppbereinigten Klassement auf Gesamtrang drei wieder.

Hubert Haupt erwischte mit dem Mercedes-AMG GT3 #5 einen guten Start und verbesserte sich von seiner 20. Startposition auf Rang 17. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt bedeutete das den sechsten Platz im Silver Cup. Die beiden HRT-Fahrzeuge verteidigten ihre Positionen auch unter mehreren Gelb- und Safety-Car-Phasen. Patrick Assenheimer und Michele Beretta arbeiteten sich im weiteren Rennverlauf sogar noch weiter nach vorne und schlossen das dreistündige Rennen letztlich auf dem 14. Gesamtrang und damit dem fünften Platz in der Silver-Cup-Klasse ab.

Schlussfahrer Nico Bastian, der sich bei der Fanatec Esports GT Pro Series am Vorabend bereits bestens auf die Strecke einstellen konnte, behielt in seinem Mercedes-AMG GT3 #4 die Nerven und hielt den dritten Platz bis zum Zieleinlauf. 

Der nächste Einsatz in der GT World Challenge Europe steht für das Haupt Racing Team in drei Wochen an. Dann wird auf dem Circuit Ricardo Tormo in Valencia der letzte Sprint Cup des Jahres ausgetragen. Auch das nächste Endurance-Event findet in Spanien statt. Beim Saisonfinale auf dem Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya am 10. Oktober wollen die beiden HRT-Fahrzeuge an ihre Leistung auf dem Nürburgring anknüpfen.

Luca Stolz, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4
„Es war ein gutes Wochenende für uns. Man hat von Anfang an gesehen, dass wir die Pace haben. Das Fahren hat wirklich Laune gemacht, gegen den Lamborghini hatten wir aber keine Chance und die Kollegen mit der Nummer 88 waren auch stark. Ich bin aber froh über Platz drei, das hat sich das Team verdient. Nachdem die Saison bisher nicht so lief, ist es schön, endlich mal einen Podiumsplatz einzufahren.“

Nico Bastian, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4
„Generell ein sehr erfolgreiches Wochenende. Für mich war es im Endurance Cup das allererste Podium. Da freut man sich natürlich. Das Auto war schnell, wir waren immer unter den besten drei. Es hat alles gepasst, und das haben wir mit Platz drei gekrönt. Von Platz vier kommend war das das Beste, was wir uns vorstellen konnten.“

Hubert Haupt, Teambesitzer und Fahrer, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5
„Ich bin sehr happy mit dem Podium für die Nummer 4. Mehr war heute nicht drin, der Lamborghini war teilweise eine Sekunde pro Runde schneller. Ohne Anpassung der BOP sehe ich derzeit keine Chancen, um den Gesamtsieg mitzufahren. Mit unserem Auto sind wir im Silver Cup Fünfter geworden. Das ist in Ordnung, Ziel war aber das Podium.“ 

Sean Paul Breslin, Teamchef Haupt Racing Team
Für uns war es ein sehr herausforderndes Wochenende auf zwei Rennstrecken gleichzeitig. Wir sind sehr sauber gefahren und haben keine Fehler gemacht. Ich bin sehr glücklich mit der Leistung des Teams und dem guten Ergebnis. Das Podium und der dritte Platz im Silver Cup haben wir unseren guten Teamleistung zu verdanken. Das war ein tolles Gefühl, nachdem der Start in die GT World Challenge nicht nach Plan verlief. Hoffentlich können wir das in Barcelona fortsetzen.“  

Über HRT
HRT steht für HAUPT RACING TEAM. Das im Juli 2020 von dem Rennfahrer und Unternehmer Hubert Haupt gegründete Team ist im internationalen GT3-Sport erfolgreich. Bei zahlreichen Einsätzen geht HRT mit erweiterter Werksunterstützung durch Mercedes-AMG an den Start. Die Vorbereitung der Einsätze und Fahrzeuge erfolgt unweit des Nürburgrings von Meuspath aus. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich HRT mit einem eigenen eSPORTS Team im professionellen Segment des Sim-Racings und ist ein gefragter Partner für Motorsport-Events aller Art. HRT verfügt über zahlreiche Experten mit großer Motorsport- und Engineering-Erfahrung, mit denen das breit aufgestellte Motorsport-Unternehmen unter anderem auch technische Entwicklungsprojekte für und mit seinen Partnern durchführt. Unternehmenssitz der Haupt Racing Team GmbH ist Grünwald bei München. Neben dem Motorsport ist Hubert Haupt vor allem als erfolgreicher Projektentwickler bekannt. Mit seiner Immobilien Holding realisiert er im süddeutschen Raum hochwertigste Wohn- und Gewerbekonzepte – von innovativen Gebäuden bis hin zu kompletten Stadtteilen.

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg

5. September 2021 | Nürburg