MAX GÖTZ WINS AT THE NORISRING TO KEEP THE TITLE RACE ALIVE

PRESSINFORMATION | 9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

Maximilian Götz (GER) takes a commanding victory with Mercedes-AMG Team HRT in Saturday’s race at the final event of the 2021 DTM at the Norisring. Götz started his home race in Nuremberg from fifth place and had taken the lead by the end of lap ten. His flawless drive keeps the Drivers’ Championship wide open.

  • Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4: Victory for Maximilian Götz
  • Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5: 14th place for Vincent Abril
  • Race for the DTM Drivers’ title remains exciting

Maximilian Götz (GER) had to settle for fifth place in qualifying ahead of race one at the Norisring – his team-mate Vincent Abril (MCO) was eleventh fastest.

That left Maximilian Götz with little more than a theoretical chance of winning the Drivers’ Championship. However, he made a very good start in the pink and blue #4 BWT Mercedes-AMG GT3 and was soon battling at the head of the field. Meanwhile, his team-mate Vincent Abril, in the #5 car with the blue and yellow design of team partner Bilstein, fell several positions after a collision on the opening lap.

Götz fought hard at his home race, driving aggressively on his way to taking the lead on lap ten.

Götz defends his lead in style to claim victory number two of the season for HRT

As the race progressed, the experienced Götz set fast lap times and had opened a lead of two seconds by lap 14. That advantage had stretched to over four seconds by the end of 22 laps, and his team consequently called him in for his mandatory pit stop on lap 23. As has so often been the case this season, the HRT completed the stop in a rapid time of just 7.01 seconds. This allowed Götz to put more valuable seconds between him and his pursuers.

The German driver returned to the track in ninth place, but led again by the time the round of pit stops had been completed – a lead he defended superbly through to the finish. Götz’s second win of the season in the #4 BWT GT3 came at his home race at the Norisring. Team-mate Abril finished 14th, despite a collision at the start of the race.

Drivers’ Championship remains open ahead of final DTM race

Maximilian Götz’s excellent performance not only earned him his second DTM victory, but the 35-year-old also kept the race for the Drivers’ Championship wide open. 28 points are up for grabs in Sunday’s final DTM race, giving Götz a mathematical chance of winning the title.

The showdown to decide the winner of the 2021 DTM season takes place at 13:30 on Sunday. The race can be watched live on TV on SAT.1, as well as via a free livestream at www.ran.de and on the organiser’s YouTube channel. The latest standings and final results are also available in the live timing on the race day. 

Maximilian Götz, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4:
“It is incredible, I have tears in my eyes. My home race, and I’m on the top step of the podium. When you start from fifth, you don’t expect that. The first lap was chaotic, but the pace was good and we opened a lead relatively quickly. Thank you to the team and Mercedes-AMG for the great car. We are now back in the battle for the championship and looking forward to an exciting race tomorrow.”

 Vince Abril, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5:
“Another difficult race. Unfortunately, I was pushed into the wall at the start and ended up in last place. The pace was actually good, but it is difficult to overtake here. We are now hoping for a better qualifying tomorrow.”

 Ulrich Fritz, Managing Director of Haupt Racing Team GmbH:
“Max and the team did a super job today. From fifth to first – and in commanding fashion. It was important, in order to keep the championship open. Tomorrow is a new day and we have every chance. Having said that: a 19-point deficit with 28 still up for grabs is a real challenge. However, we are ready for it and looking forward to getting stuck in tomorrow.”

About HRT
HRT stands for HAUPT RACING TEAM. Formed in July 2020 by racing driver and entrepreneur Hubert Haupt, the team enjoys success in GT3 racing. HRT lines up with extended works support from Mercedes-AMG in many of the team's outings. The outings and cars are prepared in Meuspath, not far from the Nürburgring. HRT also has its own eSPORTS team in the professional sim racing sector and is a sought-after partner for motorsport events of all sorts. HRT can call on a host of experts with a wealth of motorsport and engineering experience, which the diverse motorsport company leverages when implementing technical development projects for and with its partners. The headquarters of Haupt Racing Team GmbH is Grünwald near Munich. The team owner is racing driver and businessman Hubert Haupt. As well as motorsport, Haupt is primarily known as a successful property developer. With his Immobilien Holding company, he implements high-quality living and building concepts in southern Germany – from innovative buildings to complete districts.

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

9 October, 2021 | Nürnberg

MAX GÖTZ SIEGT AM NORISRING UND HÄLT MEISTERSCHAFT OFFEN

PRESSE-INFORMATION | 9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

Maximilian Götz (GER) gewinnt souverän mit seinem Mercedes-AMG Team HRT das Samstagsrennen beim finalen DTM-Event 2021 auf dem Nürnberger Norisring. Götz ging bei seinem Heimrennen von Startplatz fünf ins Rennen, lag bereits nach zehn Runden in Führung und hält durch seine fehlerfreie Fahrt die Fahrer-Meisterschaft weiter offen.

  • Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4: Sieg für Maximilian Götz
  • Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5: Rang 14 für Vincent Abril
  • Kampf um DTM-Fahrertitel bleibt weiter spannend

Maximilian Götz (GER) musste sich im Qualifikationstraining für den ersten Wertungslauf auf dem Norisring mit Startplatz fünf begnügen – sein Teamkollege Vincent Abril (MCO) fuhr die elftschnellste Zeit.

Maximilian Götz hatte damit nur noch theoretische Chancen auf die Fahrermeisterschaft, erwischte aber einen sehr guten Start mit seinem pink-blauen BWT Mercedes-AMG GT3 #4 und konnte schnell um die Topplatzierungen kämpfen, während sein Teamkollege Vincent Abril (MCO), im blau-gelben Design von Teampartner Bilstein mit der #5, durch eine Kollision in der ersten Runde einige Plätze einbüßte.

Götz zeigte sich bei seinem Heimrennen kämpferisch und angriffslustig und übernahm in Runde zehn die Führung.

Götz verteidigt Führung souverän und fährt für HRT seinen zweiten Saisonsieg ein

Im weiteren Rennverlauf verschaffte sich der Routinier mit schnellen Rundenzeiten etwas Luft und hatte bereits in Runde 14 einen Vorsprung von zwei Sekunden. Nach 22 Runden betrug der Abstand von Götz auf den ersten Verfolger bereits über vier Sekunden, sodass sich sein Team in Runde 23 für den Pflichtboxenstopp entschied. Mit 7,01 Sekunden wurde dieser, wie schon so oft im Verlauf dieser Saison, vom HRT-Team in einer gewohnt starken Zeit absolviert. So konnte Götz weitere wertvolle Sekunden zwischen sich und seine Verfolger bringen.

Auf Platz neun ging es für den deutschen Rennfahrer wieder auf die Strecke, boxenstoppbereinigt lag Götz jedoch weiter in Führung, die er bis zum Schluss souverän verteidigte. Ausgerechnet bei seinem Heimrennen am Norisring gelang Maximilian Götz im BWT-GT3 #4 sein zweiter Saisonsieg. Sein Teamkollege Vincent Abril erreichte trotz einer Kollision zu Rennbeginn noch den 14. Rang.

Fahrermeisterschaft vor finalen Lauf der DTM weiter offen

Durch seine glanzvolle Leistung sicherte sich Maximilian Götz nicht nur seinen zweiten DTM-Sieg, der 35-Jährige hält zudem die Fahrermeisterschaft weiter offen. 28 Punkte sind beim finalen Lauf der DTM am morgigen Sonntag noch zu vergeben, wodurch Götz weiter rechnerische Chancen auf den Titel in der Fahrerwertung hat.

Der Showdown der DTM-Saison 2021 folgt dann am morgigen Sonntag um 13:30 Uhr. Das Rennen kann LIVE im TV auf SAT.1 sowie im kostenlosen Livestream auf www.ran.de oder auf dem YouTube-Kanal des Veranstalters verfolgt werden. Aktuelle Zwischenstände und Endergebnisse sind am Renntag ebenfalls im Livetiming verfügbar. 

Maximilian Götz, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #4:
„Es ist unfassbar, ich habe Tränen in den Augen. Mein Heimrennen und ich stehe ganz oben. Wenn man von Position fünf startet, rechnet man nicht damit. Die erste Runde war chaotisch, aber die Pace war gut und wir haben relativ schnell einen Vorsprung herausgefahren. Danke an das Team und Mercedes-AMG für das tolle Auto. Jetzt sind wir zurück im Meisterschaftskampf und freuen uns auf ein spannendes Rennen morgen“

Vince Abril, Mercedes-AMG Team HRT #5:
„Wieder mal ein schwieriges Rennen. Beim Start bin ich leider in die Mauer geschoben und auf den letzten Platz durchgereicht worden. Die Pace war eigentlich gut, aber hier ist es einfach schwer zu überholen. Jetzt hoffen wir auf ein besseres Qualifying morgen.“

Ulrich Fritz, Geschäftsführer Haupt Racing Team GmbH:
„Max und das Team haben heute einen super Job gemacht. Von Fünf auf Eins – und das auch noch so souverän. Es war wichtig, um die Meisterschaft offen zu halten. Morgen ist ein neuer Tag und da haben wir alle Chancen. Wobei man sagen muss: 19 Punkte Rückstand bei noch 28 zu vergebenden ist eine Herausforderung. Aber wir sind bereit dafür und freuen uns, dass wir morgen mitmischen dürfen.“

Über HRT
HRT steht für HAUPT RACING TEAM. Das im Juli 2020 von dem Rennfahrer und Unternehmer Hubert Haupt gegründete Team ist im internationalen GT3-Sport erfolgreich. Bei zahlreichen Einsätzen geht HRT mit erweiterter Werksunterstützung durch Mercedes-AMG an den Start. Die Vorbereitung der Einsätze und Fahrzeuge erfolgt unweit des Nürburgrings von Meuspath aus. Darüber hinaus engagiert sich HRT mit einem eigenen eSPORTS Team im professionellen Segment des Sim-Racings und ist ein gefragter Partner für Motorsport-Events aller Art. HRT verfügt über zahlreiche Experten mit großer Motorsport- und Engineering-Erfahrung, mit denen das breit aufgestellte Motorsport-Unternehmen unter anderem auch technische Entwicklungsprojekte für und mit seinen Partnern durchführt. Unternehmenssitz der Haupt Racing Team GmbH ist Grünwald bei München. Neben dem Motorsport ist Hubert Haupt vor allem als erfolgreicher Projektentwickler bekannt. Mit seiner Immobilien Holding realisiert er im süddeutschen Raum hochwertigste Wohn- und Gewerbekonzepte – von innovativen Gebäuden bis hin zu kompletten Stadtteilen.

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg

9. Oktober 2021 | Nürnberg